top of page
light green pearls.jpg

Iota Kappa Omega History

The Iota Kappa Omega Chapter of the Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated ® was chartered on Saturday, October 28, 1972 by sixteen members. Mid-Atlantic Regional Director Barbara K. Phillips of Winston-Salem, North Carolina presided over the festivities of the day, which included the closed chartering ceremony, cocktail hour and dinner, followed by a public reception. Among the visiting Sorority members from throughout the Region was Supreme Parliamentarian Elizabeth S. Randolph of Charlotte, North Carolina.

The late Addie R. Gore served as our first president. The sixteen chartering members of Iota Kappa Omega chose “Communications through Service” as it’s umbrella theme and the Chapter has gone on to establish itself as a community leader in programs of social action and service.

charter members
chartering ceremony

Our 16 Charter Members


Evelyn Jean Simpson Carter*

Shirley Coward-Cox

Nellie Chapman Cox

Joyce Dixon

Willie Mae Gibbs

Addie R. Gore*

Vivian Hawkins Grimes*

Ella Tyson Harris

Helen M. Johnson

Sandra Jones

Wilima Foskey Lewis

Charlotte Jenkins Smith*

Verna Smith Mills

Lucy Stewart Hemby*

Betty White

Judy P. Williams

*Ivy Beyond the Wall

bottom of page